0001 - Developing a "Jump And Run-Maker", 'cause I totally suck as a level designer

·

0 min read

My goal is to develop a game, where users can create their own levels and share them with other players. For this project I will mostly use the Godot Game Engine, since it allows developers to create components in a very organic way, is highly extensible and Free and Open-source software.

Playing "Mario Maker" made the statement written above very clear for me. I really suck at creating stages. However, if you are into jump and run games, Mario Maker might be or become your favorite game in the world, due to the theoretical unlimited amount of levels you can download. That being said, using Nintendo's input devices to create levels feels tedious and the paywall for a console, a copy of the game and the required online subscription is quite large, which limits the possibilities for both players and creators to fully unleash the potential of this promising, if not entirely new, concept.

Even though I am (incredible) bad at designing levels, developing games (well everything than levels), web services and custom tools is not really a problem for me. Providing a platform where other people could find fun in doing the heavy lifting for me (meaning making their own levels) seems like a natural approach to take.

Why is the first post always the hardest?