0003 - The recursive story of »big things made small«

0003 - The recursive story of »big things made small«

·

0 min read

Hi, I am still alive and coding. In the meantime I was ║▌║▌║█│▌ okay let's just say there was stuff to do. Mainly I learned how to make chinese hand pulled noodles and my girlfriend had to eat all the evidence of my numerous failures. I (somehow) have more than one blog to maintain by now, yet the other one is work related and therefore on my companies web page, but I actively neglect that one as well, weird as it sounds, the pandemic is incredible beneficial for our software. There is a lot of work right now.

That might be the last blog post that has more than a couple of sentence. The next posts might be way smaller yet I plan to publish them in a higher frequency. Basically, whenever I commit something I might just as well post here what I have done. Essentially, I might just drop my commit message and rant about the stuff I stumbled upon. I like my commit messages clean and precise, so this might serve as a more "informal" approach to the commit messages.

So, what is my project doing so far? We have an ugly prototype menu:

screen_2020-05-08T18:59:59+02:00.png I know. Impressive, colorful and welcoming. But it also gets the job done for now.

You can actually play a little bit, but it is not much more than a game about killing all the slimes and then terminating your games window, because you will not be able to quit, unless you find out that you have to press F12. Usability is optional!

screen_2020-05-08T19:03:01+02:00.png (in anticipation to kill them all)

Most importantly, we have a level editor, which can actually do stuff:

screen_2020-05-08T19:42:28+02:00.png

It works like a WYSIWYG-Editor. You can click around and set tiles to draw your level, set a starting point (that face-thing), a finishing point (the sugar cane ... I might get trouble with the WHO for that) and place as many enemies as your PC or Phone can handle, while you can choose from a huge collection of enemies (one). You can test your level using the buttons on the top right, saving them and loading them.

You can also determine the size of your level using sliders and maybe some more stuff, that you can figure out yourself. Prototype builds are available. I currently export my project after every commit for Windows, Linux and HTML5. You can click here to start playing and creating your levels. As mentioned before, there is not that much to do, but tell me what you think anyways.

It does not work too well on your smartphone I suppose. Playing should be fine but using the editor might be troublesome. If you are stuck on the spinner, reload. That's a Godot issue (I guess). Desktop Builds are currently available on MEGA. I choose MEGA because it is the only software available that allows me to sync stuff easily from Arch Linux. There is no copyrighted material included. All the graphics are from Kenney.nl licensed under CC0. The whole soundtrack is the sound of silence. Not from Simon & Garfunkel but literally the sound of silence.

If the links above are not working anymore, give me a howler. While we are at it, tell me how many enemies you can spawn until you system freezes. I guess I have to hard cap the maximum amount of nodes in a scene.

That's it for today. No code, just results. I might post another update tomorrow. Guess I start to make a level importer and exporter, so we can actually share the "not-too-much" that we can create. Or I take a break for another 6 months :P

What? The title had nothing to do with the content? How dare you spreading that nonsense?