0005 - You can now actually play a level

·

0 min read

and not just make some. I implemented a level loader that basically encapsulates more functions from the editor, making it even cleaner. The loader allows me to create custom game modes later, which is nice. I also got the situation about my own levels fixed, turns out the build in file selector in Godot is not as good as I thought it would be. Selecting basically anything inside your games res:// folder simply won't trigger. I did not take a deeper look into it, I have to get rid of the build in file selector sooner or later anyways. It's a usability nightmare on gamepads and phones.

The announced level from yesterday can now be played. I wonder if somebody can actually make it on the first try.

Basic level loader and build in levels

    Adds a function to load and play levels.
    Player will reload the scene if they die.
    The player will get back to the level selection once
    they finish the level.

    File selection was done manually this time due to bugs in Godots file
    selector